Skip to main content Start of content
Start of content

e-2135 (Indigenous health)

Initiated by Jaris Swidrovich from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Original language of petition: English

Petition to the Minister of Indigenous Services

  • The Non-Insured Health Benefits Program provides eligible First Nations and Inuit with coverage for a specified range of medically necessary health-related goods and services when not covered through private insurance plans or provincial/territorial health and social programs;
  • A benefit will be considered for coverage when an item or service is unavailable through any other federal, provincial, territorial, or private health or social program, and provided by a recognized provider;
  • Eight of the ten provinces in Canada offer provincially/publicly funded medication assessment services by a pharmacist;
  • Registered First Nations individuals are excluded from accessing publicly funded medication assessment services by a pharmacist in every province (except British Columbia and Ontario);
  • The greatest gaps in health outcomes experienced by Canadians exist between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples; and
  • Pharmacists are the most accessible health care professionals in Canada.
We, the undersigned, Citizens of Canada, call upon the Minister of Indigenous Services to recognize all provincially publicly funded professional pharmacy services (e.g. medication reviews/assessments) as eligible and reimbursable benefits under the Non-Insured Health Benefits Program in all provinces and territories of Canada where the same service is otherwise offered and publicly funded for all other non-First Nations and non-recognized Inuit citizens.
Government response tabled on July 17, 2019 (Sessional Paper No. 8545-421-237-02)
Open for signature
April 3, 2019, at 9:54 a.m. (EDT)
Closed for signature
May 3, 2019, at 9:54 a.m. (EDT)
Presented to the House of Commons
Sheri Benson (Saskatoon West)
May 13, 2019 (Petition No. 421-03718)
Government response tabled
July 17, 2019
Photo - Sheri Benson
Saskatoon West
New Democratic Party Caucus
Disclaimer regarding petitions