Skip to main content
Please note that e-mail addresses from the Government of Canada may not be used to create, support, or sign an e-petition.
Subscribe to RSS Feed
Sign the petition

e-1230 (National holidays)

42nd Parliament
Initiated by Amanda Rogers from Kingston, Ontario, on September 13, 2017, at 1:52 p.m. (EDT)
Aboriginal peoples
National Aboriginal Day
Public holidays
The Petition is open for signature until January 11, 2018, at 1:52 p.m. (EDT)

Petition to the House of Commons

  • We have many statutory holidays in Canada, all represent holidays celebrated by colonizers, and are often Christian based, regardless of the many cultures and ethnicities that make up the fabric of our diverse Canadian culture;
  • Canada has a national day to celebrate the First People on Turtle Island, set by the government to be June 21st each year, this is not a recognized holiday and is unknown by the majority of the Canadian population;
  • As we learn from and make changes as a result of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Report and its recommendations, taking the action of making National Aboriginal Day a statutory holiday across the country, will create an increased awareness of Indigenous cultures in the eyes of all Canadians and make one of the many needed efforts at authentic reconciliation; and
  • In addition, time and opportunity for education of the diversity of Aboriginal Cultures, contributions and issues will be made possible for all our nation’s people from coast to coast to coast. Enhancing First Nations, Inuit and Metis pride, promoting a genuine sense of recognition and hope, and providing Indigenous communities with the respect and honour long deserved, will create a richer Canada. One of which we can all be proud.
We, the undersigned, residents of Canada, call upon the Government of Canada to declare June 21st, National Aboriginal Day to be a statutory holiday across this country.
Kingston and the Islands
Open for signature : September 13, 2017, at 1:52 p.m. (EDT)
Closed for signature : January 11, 2018, at 1:52 p.m. (EDT)
Province / Territory
British Columbia
Other Countries
Sign the petition
Disclaimer regarding e-petitions